

2019/2020 Division & Class Report to the ACerS Board of Directors

Division/Class: Glass & Optical Materials Division

Current Division/Class Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)

Chair: Jincheng Du Chair-Elect: John Mauro Vice-chair: Sabyasachi Sen Secretary: Gang Chen

Board of Directors Liaison: John Kieffer PCSA Representative: Nathan McIlwaine

Incoming Division Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)

Chair: John Mauro

Chair-Elect: Sabyasachi Sen Vice-chair: Gang Chen Secretary: Joseph Ryan

Summary of Meetings and Activities Held/To Be Held (from Oct. 2019 through Oct. 2020):

MS&T Conference October 2019 (Portland, Oregon):

GOMD Program Chairs: Jincheng Du (University of North Texas), S.K. Sundaram (Alfred Univ.) Features the Cooper Session and 3 1/2 days general GOMD symposium (45 talks) Cooper Scholar – Wataru Takeda – Coe College

GOMD2020 / ACerS Virtual Glass Summit 2020 August 2020:

Program Chair: Jessica Rimsza (Sandia National Labs) & Delia Brawer (Jena University, Germany)

We organized the first virtual conference of the society

230 attendees from 13 countries

102 technical talks from 95 presenters

4 award lectures / 2 social events

Division awards (* presented at VGS2020):

Stookey Lecture of Discovery - Antony Tomsia, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab *

George Morey Award – Walter Kob, University of Monpertier France

Nobert J. Kreidl Award of Young Scholars, Yifei Zhang, MIT *

Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Science Lecture – Joachim Deubener,

Clausthal University. Germany

Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Technology Lecture - Younés Messaddeq, *

Université Laval, Canada

L. David Pye Lifetime Achievement Award - Reinhard Conradt, RWTH Aachen University, Germany *

- Dale Chihuly

- Don Uhlmann, University of Arizona

MS&T Conference October 2020	(Pittsburg, PA,	, planned, \	Virtual meeting):
------------------------------	-----------------	--------------	-----------------	----

GOMD Program Chairs: S.K. Sundaram (Alfred Univ.) & Jincheng Du (University of North Texas)

Featured the Cooper Session and general GOMD symposium

Cooper Lecture - John Kieffer, University of Michigan

Cooper Young Scholar Award – Katelyn Alyssa Kirchner, Penn State University

- Jared Rivera, UCLA
- Emiley Li, UCLA

Future Planned Meetings/Activities (from Nov. 2020 – October 2021):

PACRIM/GOMD2021, Vancouver, Canada, May 2021 MS&T 2021, Columbus, October 2021

New Initiatives/Opportunities:

Designation of 2022 as Year of Glass, application in progress to United Nation led by ICG and participated by GOMD. Celebration activities planned during GOMD2022 annual meeting.

Action Items for ACerS Board Consideration at October 2, 2020 virtual meeting:		
None		
1		
Issues/Concerns:		
None		
TYONG		
Additional Items of Note:		
None		

Financial Statement: (Including year-end summary of expenditures from the Division's Funds) Attached.

Submitted By: Jincheng Du, chair of GOMD