

2019/2020 Division & Class Report to the ACerS Board of Directors

Division/Class: Energy Materials and Systems Division

Current Division/Class Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)

Chair: Armin Feldhoff Vice-chair: Kyle Brinkman Secretary: Krista Carlson

Program Committee Chair: Eva Hemmer Board of Directors Liaison: Sanjay Mathur

PCSA Representative:

Incoming Division Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)
Note: most Divisions change officers at the ACerS Annual Meeting in October (MS&T). If your Division changes officers at another time, please indicate when incoming officers will begin their terms:
Chair:
Vice-chair:
Secretary:
Program Committee Chair:
The current Division Officers of the newly founded Division continue their offices 2002-2021 as
announced in ACerS Bulletin June/July 2020.
It is aimed to identify nominates for PCSA Representative by advertising the new Division in the frame of student events at ACerS winter workshop, MCARE and through the GYI network.

Summary of Meetings and Activities Held/To Be Held (from Oct. 2019 through Oct. 2020):

MS&T 20 (2-6 November, 2020, virtual event): EMSD co-sponsored "Thermodynamics of Materials in Extreme Environments" symposium.

Future Planned Meetings/Activities (from Nov. 2020 – October 2021):

ICAAC 21, (24-29 January, 2021, Daytona Beach, FL, USA): EMSD co-sponsored "Materials for Thermoelectrics" focused session.

MCARE 2020 & EHS 2020 (18-23 July, 2021, rescheduled, Bellevue, WA, USA), EMSD organized meetings

MS&T 21 (9-13 October, 2021, Pittsburgh, PA, USA), EMSD organized "Energy Materials for Sustainable Development" symposium

New Initiatives/Opportunitie

N/A

Action Items for ACerS Board Consideration at October 2, 2020 virtual meeting: N/A
January Consorran
Issues/Concerns: N/A
Additional Items of Note:
Number of members (as by 11 August, 2020): 343

Financial Statement: (Including year-end summary of expenditures from the Division's Funds) Attached.

The D.T. Rankin Award will be presented to Mr. Kevin Fox (Savannah River National Laboratory) at the annual division business meeting on Monday, October 5th, 2020.

Submitted By: Armin Feldhoff