

2017/2018 Division & Class Report to the ACerS Board of Directors

Division/Class: Electronics Division

Current Division/Class Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)

Chair: Brady Gibbons
Chair-Elect: Rick Ubic
Vice-chair: Jon Ihlefeld
Secretary: Alp Sehirlioglu

Secretary-Elect: Hui (Claire) Xiong

Trustee: Steven Tidrow

Incoming Division Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)
Note: most Divisions change officers at the ACerS Annual Meeting in October (MS&T). If your Division changes officers at another time, please indicate when incoming officers will begin their
terms:NA
Chair: Rick Ubic
Chair-Elect: Jon Ihlefeld
Vice-chair: Alp Sehirlioglu
Secretary: Hui (Claire) Xiong
Secretary-Elect: Jenny Andrew
Trustee: Steven Tidrow

Summary of Meetings and Activities Held/To Be Held (from Oct. 2017 through Oct. 2018):

- 1) ED Executive Committee Meeting held at MS&T17, Pittsburgh, PA, Oct. 8, 2017
- 2) ED General Business Meeting held at MS&T17, Pittsburgh, PA, Oct. 9, 2017
- 3) ED Executive Committee Meeting at EAM 2018, Orlando FL, Jan. 17, 2018
- 4) ED Executive Committee Meeting via WebEX, May 11, 2018
- 5) ED Executive Committee Meeting to be held at MS&T18, Columbus, OH, Oct. 14, 2018
- 6) ED General Business Meeting to be held at MS&T18, Columbus, OH, Oct. 15, 2018

Future Planned Meetings/Activities (from Nov. 2018 – October 2019):

- 1) ED Executive Committee Meeting at EMA 2019, Orlando, FL, Jan. 23, 2019
- 2) ED Executive Committee Meeting at MS&T19, Portland, OR, Oct. 2019
- 3) ED General Business Meeting at MS&T19, Portland, OR, Oct. 2019

New Initiatives/Opportunities:

Current membership is 810. The Electronics Division continues to focus on increased student and young professional engagement in division activities by providing both direct support and volunteer opportunities within a reinvigorated committee structure (in particular, we have young professionals leading our Member Engagement, History, Publications, and Outreach committees).

We continue to search for ways to increase industrial involvement. This year we have begun discussions with the Materials Research Society to develop a joint webinar based on MRS's current

delivery platform. In the coming year Brady Gibbons will work with Gopal Rao and Susan Trolier-McKinstry from MRS to bring these online. Potential topics which would be relevant to industrial members would be multilayer ceramic capacitors, GaN for power electronics, and piezoelectric resonator technology. Costs for a webinar of this magnitude are \$1,000, which could be offsite either with division funds or industrial sponsorship.

Action Item	s for ACerS	Board (Consideration	at October	13, 2018	meeting:
-------------	-------------	---------	---------------	------------	----------	----------

NA

1	122	ues,	/C.	n	CE	rns	
	ວວເ	100	\sim	OI I	-	เเเง	٠

NA

Additional Items of Note:

1) EAM → EMA

The EAM 2018 meeting was successful (although not quite as in years past), with 13 symposia sponsored by EDiv and 5 sponsored by BSD. The organizers from EDiv included Brady Gibbons, Jon Ihlefeld, and Rick Ubic. Wayne Kaplan and John Blendell were the organizers from BSD. Plenary speakers were Judith Driscoll from the University of Cambridge and Roger de Souza from Aachen University. The meeting continued to strongly and actively support student and young professional participants. It was decided at this meeting that the name would revert to EMA from 2019 on. The EDiv Executive Committee was very pleased with this.

EMA 2019 is the 10th anniversary of the meeting. The chairs from EDiv are Jon Ihlefeld and Alp Sehirlioglu, with Jeff Rickman and John Blendell from BSD. There are 13 symposia, largely along similar topics as previous years. Plenary speakers include Jon-Paul Maria from Penn State University and Yet-Ming Chiang from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The meeting will continue to strongly and actively support student and young professional participants. On these lines, there will be two student-centric lunchtime sessions ('Hot Topics' from each symposia organizer and 'What's Next?' including a panel of industry, government, and academic professionals discussing the pros and cons of each career). Student competitions will also be held.

2) Awards

Daniel Drury of Missouri S&T won the Hoffman Scholarship for his essay on "Tailoring Material Properties through Defect Engineering for Electronic Ceramics." The purpose of the \$2000 tuition award is to encourage academic interest and excellence among undergraduate students in the area of ceramics/materials science and engineering.

The Edward C. Henry Award was given to the authors of the article "Effect of degree of crystallographic texture on ferro- and piezoelectric properties of Ba0.85Ca0.15TiO3 piezoceramics," written by Jan Schultheiss, Oliver Clemens, Sergey Zhukov, Heinz von Seggern, Wataru Sakamoto, and Jurij Koruza (J. Am. Ceram. Soc., 2017; 100; 2091-2107).

Financial Statement: (Including year-end summary of expenditures from the Division's Funds)

See attached

Submitted By: Brady Gibbons on behalf of the Electronics Division