2011 Ceramographic Exhibit

Roland B. Snow Award for Best of Show

Winner: Roger Ristau, Vincent Palumbo, John Doyle, Evan Ward, and Bryan D. Huey University of Connecticut, Institute of Materials Science, Storrs, CT "Ancient Diatom Ruins"

Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) Category:

<u>1st Place</u>: Roger Ristau, Vincent Palumbo, John Doyle, Evan Ward, and Bryan D. Huey University of Connecticut, Institute of Materials Science, Storrs, CT "Ancient Diatom Ruins"

<u>2nd Place</u>: Babak Anasori, Michael Naguib, Yury Gogotsi, and Michel W. Barsoum Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and A.J. Drexel Nanotechnology Institute, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA "MXenes: Two-Dimensional Crystals"

3rd Place: Vincent Palumbo, Arif Mubarok, Rainer Hebert, and Bryan D. Huey University of Connecticut, CMBE Department, Storrs, CT "Insolubility Can be a Bummer"

Combined Techniques Category:

<u>1st Place</u>: Cory Perkins and Allen Apblett Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK "Lead Molybdate Micro-Chicken and Nano-German Iron Crosses"

<u>2nd Place</u>: Zhiyang Yu and Jing Zhu, Tsinghua University Animesh Kundu and Martin P. Harmer, Lehigh University "Anatomy of Boron Carbide Nanofibers"

3rd Place: Zhiyang Yu, Qian Wu, and Jing Zhu, Tsinghua University Martin .P. Harmer, Lehigh University "Smiling Five-Fold Nanoflower"

Scanning Probe Microscopy (SPM) Category:

1st Place: Joseph Desmarais¹, Linghan Ye¹, Jon F. Ihlefeld², and Bryan D. Huey¹

- 1. University of Connecticut, Institute of Materials Science, Storrs, CT
- 2. Sandia National Labs

"Domain Boundary Statistics in BiFeO₃ Multiferroics"

Only the 1st Place Ribbon awarded in SPM category

Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM) Category:

<u>1st Place</u>: Boris Nijikovsky¹, Sergei Remennik¹, Jacob J. Richardson², and Wayne D. Kaplan¹

- 1. Department of Materials Engineering, Technion Israel Institute of Technology
- 2. Materials Department, University of California, Santa Barbara "Large Angle CBED of Dislocations in ZnO Films Synthesized on MgAl $_2$ O $_4$ from Aqueous Solution"

<u>2nd Place</u>: Ricardo H.R. Castro¹, Andrew Thron², Shmulik Hayun¹, and Klaus van Benthem²

- 1. Peter A. Rock Thermochemistry Lab
- 2. Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, University of California, Davis "Anhydrous Nanocrystalline Magnesium Oxide and the Loch Ness Monster"

3rd Place: Shuailei Ma and Martin P. Harmer Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA "Carbon Nano-Fingerprint"

Optical Microscopy Category:

<u>1st Place</u>: Michael Kracum, Helen M. Chan, and Martin P. Harmer Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA "Finding Mars"

Only the 1st Place Ribbon awarded in Optical category